Home » Volunteering Awards 2020

Volunteering Awards 2020

Team of the Year – The Interact Club are named Team of the Year for their outstanding work in the community, particularly during lockdown.

Sport Volunteer of the Year – This year’s winner is Damian Lawson for his contributions to sport inside and outside of College. At College, Damian is the captain of the men’s second football team and is part of the Higher Sports Leadership Award. Outside of College, Damian coaches and manages Newton Aycliffe’s under 7’s football team.

Good Egg – Nat Moxon-Mcewan is awarded the Good Egg Award for his contribution to the Sport Department (Open evenings, Higher Sports Leadership Award etc.) and his many hours of volunteering.

Fundraising and Charities Award – Abdullah Alazzawi wins the Fundraising and Charities Award for his volunteering work in the palliative care department at St. Teresa’s Hospice.

Contributions to Art and Culture – Meg McWilliam receives the Contributions to Art and Culture Award for her work with Darlington Operatic Society.

Sharon Watterson Award for Contribution to the Community – The final award is in memory of Sharon Watterson who worked tirelessly for her community. The winners are the Interact Club who have worked with countless organisations and charities over the last year and who have made a huge difference to the local community.

I Helped Make it Happen – A look back at all of the volunteering carried out by QE students this past year.